County Officials Sworn In

Supervisors Nathan Fletcher (left) and Jim Desmond (right) at their swearing-in ceremony.

Two new supervisors and four incumbent County officials were sworn in to four-year terms in a ceremony at the County Administration Center downtown Monday.

Nathan Fletcher and Jim Desmond were elected to the County Board of Supervisors in November 2018. Fletcher will represent the Fourth District, which includes parts of San Diego from downtown to La Jolla and inland toward Mission Valley and Encanto. He was sworn in by his wife, State Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez Fletcher.

“I take seriously the charge laid out for us in the County motto that the ‘noblest motive is the public good.’ And I will work tirelessly every single day to advance that goal,” said Fletcher, who served two terms in the California State Assembly.

Jim Desmond will represent the County’s Fifth Supervisorial District, which covers a swath of North County including Oceanside, Carlsbad, Vista, Palomar Mountain and Borrego Springs. Superior Court Judge Timothy Casserly administered the oath of office to Desmond.

“I feel like today I’ve been given a great gift—a gift of opportunity,” said Desmond, the former mayor of San Marcos. “The opportunity is to make positive changes and positive differences in the lives of over 3 million people that call San Diego County home.”

Fletcher and Desmond replace termed-out supervisors Ron Roberts and Bill Horn, respectively. They join supervisors Greg Cox, Dianne Jacob and Kristin Gaspar in overseeing a $6.27 billion budget and approximately 17,000 County employees.

Four additional officials were sworn into office, all winning outright during the June 2018 primary election. Sheriff Bill Gore will lead detention, court services and law enforcement for the unincorporated area and nine contract cities of Del Mar, Encinitas, Imperial Beach, Lemon Grove, Poway, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach and Vista in his third term. San Diego County Superior Court Judge Kevin Enright administered the oath to Gore.

District Attorney Summer Stephan was sworn in for her first elected term. She was appointed to the position in June 2017. Superior Court Judge Peter Deddeh administered her oath.

Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk Ernest Dronenburg begins his third term in office. Superior Court Judge David Gill administered the oath to Dronenburg.

Treasurer/Tax Collector Dan McAllister, who will start his fifth term, was sworn in by Michael Brunker, the executive director of the Jackie Robinson YMCA.

Michelle Mowad is a communications specialist with the County of San Diego Communications Office. Contact